Last year WhatsApp users witnessed the launch of the most sought-after feature, “delete for everyone.” As the name suggests, the feature allows the users to cancel or delete messages if they were sent by mistake to a wrong group or contact. The giant messaging platform is currently working on a new rollout aiming at the users who get around the time limit on cancelling the messages.
Facebook owned WhatsApp has started working on this new update for its messaging platform with the main focus being amending its “Delete for everyone” feature. This feature, in particular, was introduced last year enabling the users to revoke a message in a conversation in under 7 minutes. However, the latest update will introduce a new set of rules to the facet making it all the more consistent while using the messaging platform.
WABetaInfo reported that the most recent WhatsApp update now introduces a recipient limit feature for “Delete for everyone” which confirms that that the recipient of the message has received the request to delete from the sender of the message within a certain limit of time. The message will be deleted from both party’s threads only after the recipient approves the request.
Once the update is unveiled, the sender’s message will not be deleted for everyone in case the recipient has not received a delete request under 13 hours, 8 minutes and 16 seconds after the recipient has received the message.
Simplifying this further, in case if you have sent a message to someone but wish to delete it, you will be unable to delete the message even though you select “Delete for everyone” until and unless the recipient gets a revoke request under the specified time span. However, there will be occasions where a recipient will not be prompted in the situations where the user’s cellular data is off, or their cellphone is switched off.
Here is an account of the official tweet by WABetaInfo.:
WhatsApp has updated the “Recipient limit”.
What does it mean? If you delete a message for everyone, but the recipient won’t receive the revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s (maybe because the phone was off), the message will *not* be revoked.
..(1/2) This is a protection against modded users that revoked messages sent weeks, months and years ago.
You can still delete a message for everyone within 1h, 8m, 16s as long as the recipient will receive your revoke request within 13h, 8m, 16s.”
As the feature is currently in testing phase, it is to be considered that it will take a significant time to roll out the feature to all devices. This new recipient limit feature is a step to make sure that revised versions of WhatsApp do not support erasing older messages by changing the time settings manually on the phone.
For the users who are currently using the regular version of WhatsApp, the recipient limit remains unchanged concerning the time limit and can be cancelled when performed under 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds after sending the message. Too much of time precision isn’t it?